Super Soupy

Apologies for the delay…workblahblahlazyblahblahyoutubeblah-all poor excuses.

After making some delicious beer bread forever ago, I decided to prepare a dinner that could last me through my sad, lonely (jkjk, but seriously long distance is no fun) bear-less Valentines week until he came to visit the following weekend (brief aside: AH so great! Sooo much delicious foodage was made and consumed that weekend *um, hello, this is me. I look for any excuse to bake, so when there is someone LIVING in my apartment other than me to bake for??? HECK yeah!) The meal of choice?: Florentine Tomato Soup!

Makin some impromptu soup!

Makin some impromptu soup!

It seemed pretty close to a minestrone-esque kind of soup-with tomatoes, broth, some pasta and a few veggies (plus a sprinkling of parmesan cheese per serving!) I think I came across the recipe the same day I decided to make it, as I was perusing WeightWatchers (of course). It was the perfect excuse to use up most of a half-full box of pasta, and was super quick and easy (and really really tasty!) I love making soup, because its such a convenient one-pot meal that (since I live alone) can last me a whole week. And lemmetellya, coming home after work/gym/grocery shopping at 7:30-8pm+ and not having to face an hour+ of dinner making? it is AWESOME 🙂

Very hearty and filling!

It was quick, simple, very tasty, an BONUS: pretty durn healthy! And one bowl proved very filling, which was useful (fill up on healthy things, less of an urge to snack on leftover candy corn *hey, its still good!* from a half-eaten bag in your drawer.

Recipe slightly modified from WeightWatchers.com

Florentine Tomato Soup

1 Tbsp olive oil
1 medium uncooked onion(s), chopped
2 clove(s) (medium) garlic clove(s), minced
14 1/2 oz canned diced tomatoes
4 cup(s) reduced-sodium chicken broth, or vegetable broth
3/4 cup(s) Faraon Uncooked Pasta Concha Shells, small variety, or other brand  **I just used leftover elbow pasta I had lying around
1/2 tsp table salt
2 cup(s) fresh spinach, baby leaves, coarsely chopped   **Instead, I used up the 1.5 ish cups of frozen spinach in my freezer
1/2 tsp black pepper, freshly ground
2 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • Heat the oil in a large nonstick saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic and cook, stirring frequently, until the onion is very tender, about 8 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes; bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until the tomatoes are softened and the liquid is reduced by about half, about 5 minutes.
  • Stir in the broth, macaroni, and salt; bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, until the macaroni is tender, 8–10 minutes. Stir in the spinach and pepper. Cook until the spinach just begins to wilt, about 30 seconds. Remove from the heat. Serve sprinkled with the cheese. Yields 1 1⁄2 cups soup and 1⁄2 tablespoon cheese per serving.
  • 3 Points+ per serving (If you’re into that 🙂 )
Leave a Reply

